On Wed, Nov 02, 2011 at 01:15:34PM -0700, Eric Rasmussen wrote:
> The sad thing is some legitimate websites are so full of meaningless
> buzzwords that they're hard to distinguish from bogus sites. But in
> this case it looks like they've had that domain registered since 2007
> and have multiple listings across multiple employment sites, so I'm
> guessing they're an actual company, just engaging in questionable
> email practices.
>
> -Eric
>
>
> On Wed, Nov 2, 2011 at 1:04 PM, Micah Cowan <
micah@cowan.name> wrote:
> > (11/02/2011 12:44 PM), Brian Lavender wrote:
> >> I received what appears a bogus recruiting email from the following site.
> >>
http://www.itbrainiac.com
> >>
> >> If you look at the website, it has no phone contact, names and appears to
> >> be.... bogus.
> >
> > No phone contact? What about at
> >
http://www.itbrainiac.com/contact_us.html (via the "Contact Us" tab)?
> >
> > It doesn't strike me as all that unusual for names to be absent from a
> > website... is there anything in particular that makes you think this is
> > a bogus company? I don't see anything that strikes me as particularly
> > odd (cursory look). Except that they don't seem to be in
whitepages.com
> > (but the number from their website maps to a NY, NY landline, matching
> > their contact address).
> >
> >> The email doesn't address me and just lists the position.
> >
> > Is that unusual for recruiters? I get that sort of unsolicited (but
> > apparently career-relevant), generic job offer all the time. All the
> > less surprising if you consider they probably blast the mail to a
> > prepared list of potentially-interested email addresses (culled from
> > resumes?)
> >
> > --
> > Micah J. Cowan
> >
http://micah.cowan.name/
> > _______________________________________________
> > vox mailing list
> >
vox@lists.lugod.org
> >
http://lists.lugod.org/mailman/listinfo/vox
> >
> _______________________________________________
> vox mailing list
>
vox@lists.lugod.org
>
http://lists.lugod.org/mailman/listinfo/vox