l i n u x - u s e r s - g r o u p - o f - d a v i s
Next Meeting:
July 7: Social gathering
Next Installfest:
Latest News:
Jun. 14: June LUGOD meeting cancelled
Page last updated:
2003 Jan 03 10:01

The following is an archive of a post made to our 'vox-tech mailing list' by one of its subscribers.

Report this post as spam:

(Enter your email address)
RE: [vox-tech] smtp question - blocked ip
[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

RE: [vox-tech] smtp question - blocked ip

Hm, my messages seem to be coming through all right...

At 09:49 AM 1/3/2003, you wrote:
Yes well, it's enough to prevent Pete from emailing out.  I like
DNSStuff.com, it's a great resource.

Spamhaus blocked Pacbell DSL ip addresses.  Evidently they felt that PacBell
has been ignoring there complaints regarding a few persistent spammers.  If I
thought I could get away with it here at work, I would probably block PacBell
DSL too.

I got 100,000 SPAM messages through my system at work over New Years Day from
a PacBell dsl ip address.

I average 150,000-200,000 a week from various open relays abroad, but the guy
screws up periodically and leaves enough info to trace him to a PacBell ip
address on occasion.  It changes so he's probably pppoe.  As we add reduncy
to entry points on our email system and expand the scope to the Enterprise, I
will prbably see a dramatic increase.  The sad part is, a lot of it is to non
existant email addresses.  SO not only is the spammer irratating me, he is
ripping off his customer.


-----Original Message-----
From: Rod Roark [mailto:rod@sunsetsystems.com]
Sent: Friday, January 03, 2003 9:35 AM
To: vox-tech@lists.lugod.org
Subject: Re: [vox-tech] smtp question - blocked ip

They blacklisted Pac Bell?  Now there's a nice example of
spitting into the wind.  :-)

-- Rod

On Friday 03 January 2003 09:15 am, Steven Peck wrote:
> The reciever is setup to use a block list by ip address.  So, lookup your
> MX and/or IP Address in a lookup site.
> For all potential email block/spam problems, I turn to
> www.dnsstuff.com
> The MX for dirac.org is 'mail.dirac.org'
> The IP is'
> Looking up the IP Address at DNSStuff gets you
> http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/ip4r.ch?ip=
> Your IP is listed in spambag.org's email blocklist
> http://www.spambag.org/cgi-bin/spambag?mailfrom=pacbell
> Pete, you spammer you. :) j/k
> Best of luck getting off of it seeing as it is a PacBell IP netblock.
> Your best hope is if 'netease.net' can whitelist your ip address.
> -sp
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Peter Jay Salzman [mailto:p@dirac.org]
> Sent: Friday, January 03, 2003 8:51 AM
> To: vox-tech@lists.lugod.org
> Subject: [vox-tech] smtp question - blocked ip
> can someone give me a more useful description of the problem here?  who
> is blocking whom?  it sounds like my MTA rejected sending email to
> netease, but ORDB and tcp wrappers for exim (which i use) should block
> incoming mail from spammers, not outgoing mail to spammers.
> at least, i'm pretty sure about that...
> pete
> sorry for terse message, but i'm still on a 14.4.....
> ----- Forwarded message from Mail Delivery System <Mailer-Daemon@dirac.org>
> -----
> From: Mail Delivery System <Mailer-Daemon@dirac.org>
> To: p@dirac.org
> Subject: Mail delivery failed: returning message to sender
> Date: Fri, 03 Jan 2003 08:42:07 -0800
> This message was created automatically by mail delivery software (Exim).
> A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
> recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:
>   cdavis@netease.net
>     SMTP error from remote mailer after RCPT TO:<cdavis@netease.net>:
>     host mx02.netease.net []: 554
> <adsl-64-164-47-8.dsl.scrm01.pacbell.net[]>:
>     Client host rejected: ACL IP Blocked; (5.7.1) Policy Violation 1205

vox-tech mailing list
vox-tech mailing list

Richard S. Crawford

AIM: Buffalo2K ICQ: 11646404 Y!: rscrawford
MSN: underpope@hotmail.com

"It is only with the heart that we see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye." --Antoine de Saint Exupéry

"Push the button, Max!"

vox-tech mailing list

LUGOD Group on LinkedIn
Sign up for LUGOD event announcements
Your email address:
LUGOD Group on Facebook
'Like' LUGOD on Facebook:

Hosting provided by:
Sunset Systems
Sunset Systems offers preconfigured Linux systems, remote system administration and custom software development.

LUGOD: Linux Users' Group of Davis
PO Box 2082, Davis, CA 95617
Contact Us

LUGOD is a 501(c)7 non-profit organization
based in Davis, California
and serving the Sacramento area.
"Linux" is a trademark of Linus Torvalds.

Sponsored in part by:
EDGE Tech Corp.
For donating some give-aways for our meetings.